UEFA Champions League draw: The teams Borussia Dortmund can face in the group stage

Borussia Dortmund will find out their UEFA Champions League group stage opponents on Thursday, with the draw set to take place in Switzerland.

As always, 32 teams will take part in the UEFA Champions League group stage. They will be drawn into eight groups of four teams. The teams are split into four seeding pots, and every group will have one team from each pot. The draw will take place at 17:00 CET (16:00 BST, 11:00 ET). Seedings for all teams are determined by club coefficients, and Borussia Dortmund will be in pot two, alongside FC Barcelona, Atlético Madrid, Manchester City, Manchester United, Shakhtar Donetsk, Chelsea and Ajax.

Pot one contains 2019/20 Champions League winners Bayern Munich, 2019/20 Europa League winners Sevilla, as well as Real Madrid, Juventus, Liverpool, Paris St. Germain, Zenit Saint Petersburg and FC Porto.

While Dynamo Kyiv, RB Leipzig, Inter Milan, Olympiakos, Lazio, Atalanta, RB Salzburg and Krasnodar will make up pot three. Teams in pot four include Borussia Mönchengladbach, Lokomotiv Moscow, Club Brugge, Olympique de Marseille, Istanbul Basaksehir, Rennes, Midtjylland and Ferencvaros TC.

Borussia Dortmund were drawn in the group of death last season which also featured Barcelona and Inter Milan, and they will be hoping to avoid the big teams in Thursday’s draw. The Black and Yellows managed to qualify from their group last season, but were knocked out by Paris St. Germain in the round of 16.

Teams from the same nation cannot face each other in the group stage, meaning Borussia Dortmund will not go up against Bundesliga rivals Bayern Munich, RB Leipzig or Borussia Mönchengladbach. But as it always does, the UEFA Champions League group stage draw could make for some very interesting ties. Matchday one of the group stage will take place on October 20-21.