Borussia Dortmund U-19s qualify for the UEFA Youth League playoffs

Julian Rijkhoff (Photo by Rene Nijhuis/BSR Agency/Getty Images)
Julian Rijkhoff (Photo by Rene Nijhuis/BSR Agency/Getty Images) /

Julian Rijkhoff, Jamie Bynoe-Gittens and Abdoulaye Kamara scored two goals each as the Borussia Dortmund U-19s qualified for the UEFA Youth League playoffs following a 6-2 win over Besiktas on Tuesday.

The Borussia Dortmund U-19s continued their impressive run of form on Tuesday afternoon, as they cruised to an emphatic 6-2 win over Besiktas in the UEFA Youth League. The win helped the young Black and Yellows book their place in the knockout rounds of the UEFA Youth League.

Needing a win to qualify for the knockout rounds, the Borussia Dortmund U-19s got off to a dream start and raced to a two goal lead inside the opening five minutes. Julian Rijkhoff got on the end of Bradley Fink’s low cross and turned the ball into the net in the third minute, before Jamie Bynoe-Gittens doubled Dortmund’s lead with a lovely strike from the right wing.

Besiktas pulled a goal back at the half hour mark, but Abdoulaye Kamara scored shortly afterwards to ensure that Mike Tullberg’s side went into the break with a two goal lead. The summer signing blasted his shot into the roof of the net after being played in by Fink.

Rijkhoff doubled his tally moments after the start of the second half, slotting home the rebound after Fink’s shot was brilliantly saved by the Besiktas goalkeeper. Emirhan Ilkhan made it 4-2 for Besiktas in the 55th minute. But Bynoe-Gittens restored Dortmund’s three goal lead by taking advantage of some poor defending and finding the top corner with a fine effort. Kamara then added a sixth in the 80th minute to seal a stunning win for the BVB U-19s.

dark. Next. The ten youngest players to ever play for Borussia Dortmund

As the Borussia Dortmund U-19s finished second in their group, they will now play in the knockout round play-offs. The draw will be made on Tuesday, and some of the teams Dortmund can face include Midtjylland, Genk, AZ Alkmaar and Rangers.