Thomas Meunier, Mateu Morey left out of Borussia Dortmund’s Champions League squad

Borussia Dortmund have not included injured defenders Thomas Meunier and Mateu Morey in their squad for the 2023/24 UEFA Champions League group stage.

The UEFA Champions League is set to get underway next week, and Borussia Dortmund’s squad for the group stage has now been revealed. There are no major surprises in the squad, although the lack of defensive cover is apparent with Thomas Meunier and Mateu Morey both left out.

The right-backs are both currently dealing with injuries, although no timeline has been given by the club on when they will be fit again.

Back-up defender Antonios Papadopoulos has also been left out, leaving Borussia Dortmund with just three senior centre-backs and three senior full-backs in their squad for the UEFA Champions League group stage.

The lack of depth in defence is certainly a worry, although Lion Semic, Hendry Blank and Guille Bueno have all been included in the B-list. Players who were born on, or after, January 1, 2002 and have been at a club for an uninterrupted period of two years since turning 15 can be included on the B-list. Jamie Bynoe-Gittens, Abdoulaye Kamara and Samuel Bamba are also on the B-list.

Borussia Dortmund will begin their UEFA Champions League group stage campaign on September 19 as they make the trip to France to take on Paris Saint-Germain. The Black and Yellows will also go up against AC Milan and Newcastle United in the CL group stage.

Borussia Dortmund squad for the UEFA Champions League group stage

Goalkeepers: Gregor Kobel, Alexander Meyer, Silas Ostrzinski, Marcel Lotka

Defenders: Nico Schlotterbeck, Ramy Bensebaini, Mats Hummels, Emre Can, Niklas Süle, Julian Ryerson, Lion Semic, Hendry Blank, Guille Bueno (B-list)

Midfielders: Salih Özcan, Gio Reyna, Felix Nmecha, Marco Reus, Julien Duranville, Marius Wolf, Julian Brandt, Marcel Sabitzer, Jamie Bynoe-Gittens, Abdoulaye Kamara (B-list)

Forwards: Sebastien Haller, Niclas Füllkrug, Youssoufa Moukoko, Donyell Malen, Karim Adeyemi, Samuel Bamba (B-list)