Bundesliga heavyweights join Borussia Dortmund in rejecting the European Super League

European Super League
European Super League / Chris Brunskill/Fantasista/GettyImages

In addition to Borussia Dortmund, Bundesliga heavyweights Bayern Munich, Bayer Leverkusen and RB Leipzig have also rejected the proposed European Super League which seeks to replace the UEFA Champions League.

The highly controversial European Super League announced the launch of a new proposed three-league tournament featuring a total of 64 teams following the European Court of Justice's ruling that UEFA and FIFA are not allowed to block the creation of new competitions.

Several big clubs from across Europe were quick to reject the tournament, offering support to UEFA-run competitions and their respective leagues. Borussia Dortmund CEO Hans-Joachim Watzke made it clear on Thursday that they have no interest in joining the European Super League.

Bayern Munich CEO Jan-Christian Dreesen also stated that the door for the Super League remains closed for the Bavarians. "Such a competition would be an attack on the importance of the national leagues and the structure of European football. The Bundesliga is the foundation of FC Bayern, just as all national leagues are the foundation of other European football clubs. It is therefore our duty and our deep conviction to strengthen them, not to weaken them," Dreesen said.

Bundesliga leaders Bayer Leverkusen and RB Leipzig also reaffirmed their stance against the breakaway tournament. Bayer Leverkusen CEO Fernando Carro said that neither the fans nor most of the clubs are interested in another competition, adding that the Super League has no prospect of success without the support of European teams.

Bundesliga clubs were also united in rejecting the European Super League when it was first launched in 2021 and featured several top teams from the English Premier League, La Liga, and Italian Serie A. Widespread fan backlash prompted a number of clubs to pull out of the proposed tournament, and only Real Madrid and FC Barcelona still remain as public backers.

Next. Borussia Dortmund’s All-Time Best XI. Borussia Dortmund’s All-Time Best XI. dark