Wales vs Denmark: Predicted lineups for Euro 2020 round of 16 tie

Thomas Delaney (Photo by STUART FRANKLIN/POOL/AFP via Getty Images)
Thomas Delaney (Photo by STUART FRANKLIN/POOL/AFP via Getty Images) /

The Euro 2020 knockout phase is finally upon us, as Thomas Delaney and Denmark take on Wales in the opening round of 16 tie on Saturday. 

After a thrilling end to the Euro 2020 group stage, it is finally time for knockout football. Saturday’s round of 16 opener will see two dark horses face off, as Denmark go up against Wales at the Johan Cruyff Arena in Amsterdam.

Denmark made it through to the last 16 following their 4-1 win over Russia on matchday three of the group stage. Qualification to the round of 16 seemed near impossible for Denmark after defeats in their first two games. But the Danes pulled through and will now be aiming to upset the odds once again as they take on Wales.

Wales know all about being the underdogs, having made a stunning run to the semi-finals at Euro 2016. But they will also know that they have plenty of improving to do if they want to achieve a similar feat this time around.

Wales vs Denmark: Predicted starting lineups for Euro 2020 clash

Denmark do not have any new injury concerns to deal with, and will likely line up with a back three that worked to a great effect against Russia (and even in the first half against Belgium). Borussia Dortmund midfielder Thomas Delaney is set to start in the heart of the Danish midfield.

Wales will have to make do without Ethan Ampadu, who was sent off in their defeat to Italy. But other than that, the majority of their squad should be available. Experienced campaigners Gareth Bale and Aaron Ramsey will lead the attack for Wales.

Here is how Denmark and Wales could line up for Saturday’s eagerly awaited Euro 2020 round of 16 opener.

Trending. Borussia Dortmund’s All-Time Best XI. light

Wales: Ward – Roberts, Mepham, Rodon, Davies – Allen, Morrell – Bale, Ramsey, James – Moore

Denmark: Schmeichel – Vestergaard, Kjær, Christensen – Mæhle, Højbjerg, Delaney, Wass – Damsgaard, Braithwaite, Poulsen