Borussia Dortmund announce 30-man squad for US Tour

Borussia Dortmund midfielder Marco Reus. (Photo by Edith Geuppert - GES Sportfoto/Getty Images)
Borussia Dortmund midfielder Marco Reus. (Photo by Edith Geuppert - GES Sportfoto/Getty Images) /

Borussia Dortmund’s pre-season tour to the United States is upon us, and a total of 30 players boarded the flight to San Diego on Monday afternoon.

Borussia Dortmund will ramp up their preparations for the start of the 2023/24 season in the United States, and are set to play three friendly matches over the course of the trip. Edin Terzic has named a 30-man squad for the pre-season tour, and there are a number of notable omissions.

While Gio Reyna and Jamie Bynoe-Gittens have traveled to the United States despite their injuries, Mateu Morey and Soumaïla Coulibaly have not been included in the squad. According to the club, the young defenders are dealing with muscular injuries and will train individually in Dortmund.

Talented striker Julian Rijkhoff hasn’t made the trip to the United States either, raising further doubts over his Borussia Dortmund future.

Marcel Sabitzer will likely link up with his teammates in San Diego after he completes his impending move from Bayern Munich to Borussia Dortmund. The Austrian international landed in Dortmund on Monday to undergo his medical tests. The two clubs have already reached an agreement on the transfer fee.

There will be no time to deal with the jet-lag for the Borussia Dortmund players, who will face USL Championship side San Diego Loyal on Thursday. The Black and Yellows will then take on Manchester United in Las Vegas on July 30, before heading to Chicago for their pre-season friendly against Chelsea on August 2.

Next. Borussia Dortmund’s All-Time Best XI. dark

Borussia Dortmund squad for 2023 US Tour

Goalkeepers: Gregor Kobel, Alexander Meyer, Marcel Lotka, Marian Kirsch

Defenders: Niklas Süle, Mats Hummels, Nico Schlotterbeck, Ramy Bensebaini, Julian Ryerson, Marius Wolf, Thomas Meunier, Antonios Papadopoulos, Hendry Blank, Guille Bueno

Midfielders: Marco Reus, Julian Brandt, Gio Reyna, Emre Can, Salih Özcan, Felix Nmecha, Ole Pohlmann

Forwards: Karim Adeyemi, Donyell Malen, Sebastien Haller, Youssoufa Moukoko, Julien Duranville, Jamie Bynoe-Gittens, Thorgan Hazard, Samuel Bamba, Paul Besong