Alexander Meyer laments referee's decision to not award Borussia Dortmund a penalty for Hoffenheim handball

Borussia Dortmund v TSG Hoffenheim - Bundesliga
Borussia Dortmund v TSG Hoffenheim - Bundesliga / Alexander Hassenstein/GettyImages

Alexander Meyer felt that Borussia Dortmund were hard done by after referee Marco Fritz did not award them a penalty for a Hoffenheim handball inside the box late on.

Borussia Dortmund certainly didn't have luck on their side when it came to refereeing decisions last week. On Tuesday, PSV Eindhoven were awarded a controversial penalty against BVB after Mats Hummels was deemed to have fouled Malik Tillman despite getting the ball first. Then on Sunday, the Black and Yellows were not awarded a penalty despite Florian Grillitsch's handball inside the box in the 83rd minute.

Marcel Sabitzer's shot from outside the box clearly hit the Hoffenheim player on his arm. But the referee waved away all protests from the Borussia Dortmund players, and decided against awarding a spot-kick. There was a VAR check at the next stoppage in play, but the decision was allowed to stand.

Grillitsch said after the game that he was too close to the ball to be able to move his arm in time. But Alexander Meyer stated that he has seen a number of penalties being given for similar instances.

The BVB goalkeeper told DAZN, "I think there have been penalties for actions like that before. In the end, he extended the body area. We could have had a penalty in such a situation. But that wasn't the deciding factor in the game. Of course, it would have played into our hands if an action like that resulted in a penalty for us. But I don't want to say that it was decisive, we made too many mistakes of our own."

The 3-2 defeat to Hoffenheim leaves Borussia Dortmund just one point clear of fifth placed RB Leipzig in the Bundesliga standings.